Moving Image Archive (from Internet Archive)
This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Prelinger Archive
Free online repository of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films in the public domain.
B. J. Simmons & Co. Costume Design for Stage and Screen
The British theatrical costume company B. J. Simmons & Co. created stage costumes for hundreds of theater and film productions from 1857-1964, many have now been digitized. University of Bristol
Drexel Digital Museum Project
The Drexel Digital Museum Project: Historic Costume Collection is a searchable image database comprised of selected fashion from the Robert and Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection, designs loaned to the project by private collectors and costume exhibits. Users can search by a number of categories including Decade, Designer and Fabric Type.
Europeana Fashion
Europeana is an online portal that allows users to Explore fashion - historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos - from museums and archives across Europe.
Fashion2Fiber
Ohio State University's The Historic Costume & Textiles Collection is a scholarly and artistic resource of apparel and textile material culture. The 11,500+ holdings encompass a range of three dimensional objects such as textiles and articles of clothing and accessories for men, women, and children, including national dress costume, from the mid-18th century to contemporary 21st century designers. Search the collection or browse by decade.
Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design
The Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is housed at the University of Urbana-Champaign. It consists of over 5000 pieces including costume and set designs. The collection documents 150 productions of Shakespeare and modern classics dating from 1932 to 1976, staged in England and the United States. The collection, most of it digitized, can be searched by play title, theater name, actor and director names, as well as medium.
Vassar College Costume Collection
The Vassar College Costume Collection features a database of images of original historic clothing, dating from the 1830s to the present. Researchers may browse the collection or do a keyword search to find images of complete pieces as well as images of clothing construction details. The site also includes features a blog and links to past costume exhibits.