Works Cited
Works Cited
Author-Date (Reference List) StyleHumanities (Bibliography) Style
This is the "MLA Style" page of the "Introduction to Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
SMC Top Banner SMC Main Page Corsair Connect Library SMC Online Class Schedule College Catalog District Calendar Maps Directory Admissions Programs of Study Student Services Campus Resources College Governance Faculty & Staff

Introduction to Research  

This is a brief introduction to research in the Library, how to decide on a research topic, how to find relevant materials and how to cite them.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2017 URL: http://smc.libguides.com/research Print Guide RSS Updates

MLA Style Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

If chat is offline or if the librarian does not respond, please email us or call us at (310) 434-4254. 

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Sample Works Cited Page

Here is a sample works cited page created using MLA citation style.

MLA Style

When writing a research paper, you will be expected to use materials written by experts on that topic.  Using other’s works demonstrates that you have read what the experts have written on the topic, and adds credibility to your project. 

You are expected to cite your sources, i.e., give these authors credit when you use their materials. This list of resources will allow others to look at the sources you used if they want to find more information on your topic.  Another very important reason to cite your sources is that it will protect you from accusations of plagiarism.

A "Bibliography" is not the same as a "Works Cited" or "References" list. In your "Works Cited" or "References" you only list items you have actually cited in your paper. In a "Bibliography" you list all of the material you may have consulted in preparing your essay, whether or not you have actually cited the work. A "Bibliography" may include any sources related to the topic of the research paper. - See more at: http://www.skylinecollege.edu/library/workscitedvsbibliography.php#sthash.DZoi9sFC.dpuf

A bibliography is not the same as a Works Cited or References list. In your Works Cited or References you only list items you have actually cited in your paper. In a bibliography you list all of the material you may have consulted in preparing your essay, whether or not you have actually cited the work. A bibliography may include any sources related to the topic of the research paper.

Both a bibliography and a list of works cited come at the end of your paper, and are usually arranged by the author’s last name in a single alphabetical list.  It is necessary to use a uniform, consistent, and acceptable style when writing a bibliography. 

MLA is one of the more common citation styles. Follow that citation style exactly when citing every source for your research paper.  

Some disciplines will require you to use the Chicago Manual of Style, or  APA, AMA  style or some other citation style.  Before writing a research paper, ask your instructor what citation style you should use. Whichever style your instructor asks you to use, all will include enough information for the reader to find the book, article or website. 

All citations will include the author’s name, the title of the book or periodical, the title of the periodical article and the publication date. 

Examples of MLA style may be found at these websites:

 

MLA Handbook

The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 7th edition, was most recently updated in 2009. It gives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. It provides an authoritative presentation of MLA documentation style for use in student writing.

Cover Art
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 9781603290241
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip