Periodicals include magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers and are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly.
Magazines tend to be popular periodicals aimed at the general public, and usually do not offer an in-depth analysis of the topic. Magazines are excellent sources for current events and a summary of a topic, yet magazines generally do not provide in-depth analysis of a subject.
Journals are periodicals that contain articles usually written for, and by, scholars and professionals in a specific subject area, such as medicine, law, literature, and music. The main purpose of scholarly journals is to report on original research or experimentation. Scholarly articles are the more appropriate choice for researchers who need analysis and review of the literature and the topic.
Newspapers are usually published every day or every week and contain the news of the day, commentary, feature articles and advertising. Newspapers are good sources to consult for very recent events and for local area news.
The SMC Library subscribes to a variety of databases, which include content from: journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and other materials. You can access this information from: library.smc.edu
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Scholarly Journals