Art and Art History

The SMC Library subscribes to a variety of databases, which include content from: journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and other materials. The video below demos how to find and search within our databases and other library resources.

Recommended Databases:

• Films on Demand : Contains more than 26,000 educational films and 263,000 film segments that are available online in streaming video format. The videos cover a broad range of topics including art, business, social sciences, education, health, medicine, history, physical sciences, philosophy, religion, performing arts, English, geography, and psychology.
• Grove Art Online : Includes the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, covering every aspect of the visual arts, painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography from prehistory to the present day.
• JSTOR : Back issues of over 300 scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Archeology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Mathematics, Music, Middle East Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Slavic Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Popular Sources

Newspapers

• current events, news of the day, local information
• usually written by journalists or freelance writers

Magazines 

• popular culture or news aimed at the general public
• glossy and colorful with illustrations and advertising
• references not usually provided

Scholarly Sources

Scholarly Journal- Academic Journals - Peer-Reviewed

• lengthy and in depth
• uses specialized language
• articles are written by experts and scholars in their particular field
• author's name and credentials always listed
• articles always include references, works cited, and / or bibliography