Skip to Main Content
Santa Monica College Library

Philosophy

Library Databases

Recommended Databases:

Cambridge Companions Online
​A series of over 600 e-books offering introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, composers, topics, and periods. Includes essays on literature, poetry, theatre, philosophy, music, religion, history and culture.​​​

JSTOR
Back issues of over 300 scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Archeology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Mathematics, Music, Middle East Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Slavic Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Newspaper Source Plus
Provides selected full text for many U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 800 U.S. regional newspapers.​

Oxford Reference Online
Over 130 dictionaries and reference titles from a wide range of subjects.

Types of Information Sources

Popular Sources

newspaper icon generic magazine icon

Newspapers

  • current events, news of the day, local information
  • usually written by journalists or freelance writers

Magazines 

  • popular culture or news aimed at the general public
  • glossy and colorful with illustrations and advertising
  • references not usually provided

Scholarly Sources

generic article icon

Scholarly Journal- Academic Journals - Peer-Reviewed

  • lengthy and in depth
  • uses specialized language
  • articles are written by experts and scholars in their particular field
  • author's name and credentials always listed
  • articles always include references, works cited, and / or bibliography