Skip to main content

MUSIC

MUSIC

Library Databases

Begin at: library.smc.edu    Select: Databases    Select: All Databases  Choose one of the following databases: 

Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier
Academic Search Premier and MasterFile Premier provide full text for over 6200 periodicals including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

Cambridge Companions Online
​A series of over 600 e-books offering introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, composers, topics, and periods. Includes essays on literature, poetry, theatre, philosophy, music, religion, history and culture.​​

Current Biography
More than 15,000 full text biographies and more than 9,400 obituaries from all of the volumes of Current Biography Yearbook, from 1940 to the present. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, and keywords.

Films on Demand
Contains more than 26,000 educational films and 263,000 film segments that are available online in streaming video format. The videos cover a broad range of topics including art, business, social sciences, education, health, medicine, history, physical sciences, philosophy, religion, performing arts, English, geography, and psychology.

JSTOR
Back issues of over 300 scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Archeology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Mathematics, Music, Middle East Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Slavic Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Oxford Reference Online
Over 130 dictionaries and reference titles from a wide range of subjects. (Five maximum simultaneous users)

 

 

Scholarly/Academic Journal Articles

Scholarly Journals

  • written by experts and scholars in their particular fields
  • may be approved for publication by experts and scholars (referred/peer-reviewed)
  • latest research on your topic
  • lengthy and in depth
  • include charts, graphs, and long bibliographies      
  • use specialized language and jargon

Definitions

Periodicals include magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers and are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly.

Magazines tend to be popular periodicals aimed at the general public, and usually do not offer an in-depth analysis of the topic.  Magazines are excellent sources for current events and a summary of a topic, yet magazines generally do not provide in-depth analysis of a subject.

Journals are periodicals that contain articles usually written for, and by, scholars and professionals in a specific subject area, such as medicine, law, literature, and music.  The main purpose of scholarly journals is to report on original research or experimentation.  Scholarly articles are the more appropriate choice for researchers who need analysis and review of the literature and the topic.

Newspapers are usually published every day or every week and contain the news of the day, commentary, feature articles and advertising.  Newspapers are good sources to consult for very recent events and for local area news.