LibGuides: Fashion Design and Merchandising: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

The SMC Library subscribes to a variety of databases, which include content from: journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and other materials.

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Berg Fashion Library
Provides content on world dress and fashion throughout history, including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, many ebooks on fashion and other full-text reference titles, images, timelines and more. Of interest to students in disciplines such as fashion design, anthropology, art history, history, sociology, geography, folklore, theatre, and cultural studies.
Business Source Elite
Full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. Also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. Business Source Elite offers full text for nearly 1,000 business publications and more than 10,000 company profiles.
Current Biography
More than 15,000 full text biographies and more than 9,400 obituaries from all of the volumes of Current Biography Yearbook, from 1940 to the present. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, and keywords.
Films on Demand
Contains more than 26,000 educational films and 263,000 film segments that are available online in streaming video format. The videos cover a broad range of topics including art, business, social sciences, education, health, medicine, history, physical sciences, philosophy, religion, performing arts, English, geography, and psychology.
U.S. Newsstream
Local, regional and national news coverage from selected newspapers, including the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Denver Post and USA Today.