LibGuides: Environmental Studies: Articles

Articles in Library Databases

The SMC Library subscribes to a variety of databases, which include content from: journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and other materials. You can access this information from the Library website at www.smc.edu/library

Begin at: www.smc.edu/library Select: Databases to see the A-Z list of all databases the SMC Library subscribes to.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. Also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. Business Source Elite offers full text for nearly 1,000 business publications and more than 10,000 company profiles.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Country Reviews provide geographical, political, economic, corporate and environmental information for every country in the world. Country Wire is compiled from the wire services on the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental events on a country by country basis.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information regarding today’s environmental issues, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. The database is updated daily with relevant content integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on subjects such as climate change, food security, soil ecology, and tourism. ReadSpeaker and on-demand article translation accommodates diverse backgrounds. Citation tools for formatting into MLA, APA, and Chicago style are integrated directly into the user’s workflow and can be easily imported from single or multiple documents to services like EasyBib or NoodleTools.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of over 300 scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Archeology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Mathematics, Music, Middle East Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Slavic Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Science Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. Also covers The New York Times Science Section. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and national news coverage from selected newspapers, including the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Denver Post and USA Today.

Scholarly/Academic Journal Articles

Scholarly Journals

written by experts and scholars in their particular fields
may be approved for publication by experts and scholars (referred/peer-reviewed)
latest research on your topic
lengthy and in depth
include charts, graphs, and long bibliographies
use specialized language and jargon

Definitions

Periodicals include magazines, and newspapers and are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly.

Magazines tend to be popular periodicals aimed at the general public, and usually do not offer an in-depth analysis of the topic. Magazines are excellent sources for current events and a summary of a topic, yet magazines generally do not provide in-depth analysis of a subject.

Newspapers are usually published every day or every week and contain the news of the day, commentary, feature articles and advertising. Newspapers are good sources to consult for very recent events and for local area news.

Environmental Studies

Ask a Librarian

Articles in Library Databases

Scholarly/Academic Journal Articles

Definitions

Academic Search Premier