Welcome to the SMC Library's research guide on Fake News and Disinformation. Here you will find information about current news literacy projects and tools, fact checking sites, tips for evaluating resources, selected electronic books on misinformation and disinformation, and listings of subscription databases that provide online newspapers and other periodical news sources. These databases are available to the SMC community (students, staff & faculty) by logging in with SMC network account credentials. The guide also includes (in the next box) the recording of an SMC Library's Fake News Workshop presented on Oct. 27, 2020 along with a Works Cited page. The workshop provided a basic introduction to the topic.
If you need library assistance or have any questions, please use our Ask-a-Librarian chat service.
Fake News Workshop Santa Monica College Library
October 27, 2020
Presented by Patty Sophos, Librarian
Works Cited
Ad Fontes Media. “The Media Bias Chart.” June 2020. https://www.adfontesmedia.com/
Allcott, Hunt, and Matthew Gentzkow. “Social Media and Fake News in the 2016 Election.” The Journal of Economic Perspectives, vol. 31, no. 2, Spring 2017, pp. 211–235. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44235006. Accessed 22 Oct. 2020.
All Sides. “All Sides Media Bias Chart.” Version 3, 2020. John Gable, CEO. AllSides.com https://www.allsides.com/media-bias/media-bias-ratings. Accessed Oct. 2020.
Barrett, Paul M. “Disinformation and the 2020 Election: How the Social Media Industry Should Prepare.” New York University Stern Center for Business and Human Rights.” 1 Sept. 2019. https://issuu.com/nyusterncenterforbusinessandhumanri/docs/nyu_election_2020_report Accessed Oct. 2020.
Benavidez, Nora. “Protest & Disinformation: Using Media Literacy to Spot it and Stop it.” PEN America Online Workshop, 12 June 2020. https://pen.org/event/protest-disinformation/ Accessed 8 July 2020.
“Brand-funded Election Disinformation: A GDI Primer for the US 2020 Elections.” Global Disinformation Index, https://disinformationindex.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/GDI_Ad-deck_-US_Primer.pdf
Caulfield, Mike. Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers. 2017. https://webliteracy.pressbooks.com/
Cooke, Nicole A. “Post-Truth: Fake News and a New Era of Information Literacy”, a webinar from Programming Librarian, an initiative of the American Library Association Public Programs Office, 22 Feb. 2017. http://www.ala.org/tools/programming/post-truth-fake-news-and-new-era-information-literacy and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Wp4eZr0d7g&feature=youtu.be
Eberhart, George M. “Media Literacy in an Age of Fake News: Prepare Yourselves for the Pitfalls of Misinformation.” (Includes text from Zimdars, Melissa.) American Libraries, 1 Nov. 2019. https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/2019/11/01/media-literacy-in-an-age-of-fake-news/
Egelhofer, Jana L., Loes Aaldering, Jakob-Moritz Eberl, Sebastian Galyga & Sophie Lecheler. “From Novelty to Normalization? How Journalists Use the Term “Fake News” in their Reporting.” Journalism Studies 21, no. 10: 1323-1343. https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/1461670X.2020.1745667.
Factcheck.org, A Project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center, https://www.factcheck.org/
Factitious 2020 Game. http://factitious.augamestudio.com/#/
"Fake News on Social Media." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2019. Gale In Context: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/OBOYIA996440220/OVIC?u=sant99200&sid=OVIC&xid=d74fa365. Accessed 22 Oct. 2020.
Gertz, Matt. “Why We Should Keep Using the Term “Fake News” (Article is original source of Slide 14: “How other Forms of Misinformation are Weaponized into Fake News”). 9 Jan. 2017. Media Matters for America, MediaMatters.org & https://www.mediamatters.org/washington-post/why-we-should-keep-using-term-fake-news
Grabmeier, Jeff. “Is that News Really “Fake,” or is it Just Biased? Credibility Depends on Bias as Well as Honesty, Study Finds.” Ohio State News. 8 July 2019. https://news.osu.edu/is-that-news-really-fake-or-is-it-just-biased/
Harcup, Tony. “news.” A Dictionary of Journalism. Oxford UP, Current Online Version, Oxford Reference Online, 2014. https://www-oxfordreference-com.libdb.smc.edu/view/10.1093/acref/9780199646241.001.0001/acref-9780199646241-e-891 Accessed Oct. 2020.
“Here’s How Fake News Works (and How the Internet Can Stop It).” Wired Magazine 14 Feb. 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frjITitjisY
IFLA International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions. “How to Spot Fake News.” Flyer, 2016, https://www.ifla.org/publications/node/11174
“Identifying and Tackling Manipulated Media.” Reuters News Agency & Facebook Journalism Project, free course online. https://www.reuters.com/manipulatedmedia Accessed 25 Oct. 2020.
Kelly, Heather. “How to Navigate Facebook and Twitter During the Election.” The Washington Post, 23 Oct. 2020. https://www.washingtonpost.com/technology/2020/10/20/election-social-misinfo/?arc404=true Accessed 24 Oct. 2020.
McNeill, Lynne S. “‘My Friend Posted It and That's Good Enough for Me!’: Source Perception in Online Information Sharing.” The Journal of American Folklore, vol. 131, no. 522, 2018, pp. 493–499. JSTOR http://libdb.smc.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5406/jamerfolk.131.522.0493 Accessed 22 Oct. 2020.
Mitchell, Amy, Jeffrey Gottfried, Michael Barthel, and Nami Sumida. “Distinguishing Between Factual and Opinion Statements in the News: The Politically Aware, Digitally Savvy and Those More Trusting of the News Media Fare Better; Republicans and Democrats Both Influenced by Political Appeal of Statements.” 18 June 2018. Pew Research Center. https://www.journalism.org/2018/06/18/distinguishing-between-factual-and-opinion-statements-in-the-news/ Accessed Oct. 2020.
News Literacy Project. “The Sift Featured Rumor: Crowd in Ocala, Florida? The Sift Newsletter, 19 Oct. 2020. https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1ZAlWGIg6-rTSfbiR3-PqhzHkOdqNF9N-0OE6bjZc_Uo/edit?usp%3dsharing=&sa=D&ust=1603135300902000&usg=AFQjCNHyVbuPu9R3eREV04eYLuB4FkK8IQ&emci=f1edf086-5712-eb11-96f5-00155d03affc&emdi=2d326345-6312-eb11-96f5-00155d03affc&ceid=8717883#slide=id.p
On the Media. Breaking News Consumer’s Handbook. https://www.wnycstudios.org/podcasts/otm onthemedia.org Accessed Oct. 2020.
On the Media. Breaking News Consumer’s Handbook: Fake News Edition. 17 Nov. 2016. https://www.wnycstudios.org/podcasts/otm/segments/breaking-news-consumer-handbook-fake-news-edition Accessed Oct. 2020.
On the Media. Breaking News Consumer’s Handbook: Protest Edition. 9 Feb. 2017. https://www.wnycstudios.org/podcasts/otm/segments/breaking-news-consumers-handbook-protest-edition Accessed Oct. 2020.
Otero, Vanessa. “8 Ways that Critical Thinkers Know When a “News Story” is Unreliable, Disreputable, or Embarrassing to Share.” Online Workshop on Evaluating Conspiracy Theories and Meme-Based Misinformation, Ad Fontes Media, 22 Oct. 2020. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGPPn65BLC8
Otero, Vanessa. “Unpacking Memes.” Online Workshop on Evaluating Conspiracy Theories and Meme-Based Misinformation, Ad Fontes Media, 22 Oct. 2020. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGPPn65BLC8
Politifact, The Poynter Institute. https://www.politifact.com/
Shearer, Elisa and Katerina Eva Matsa. “News Use Across Social Media Platforms 2018: Most Americans continue to get news on social media, even though many have concerns about its accuracy.” 10 Sept. 2018. Pew Research Center. https://www.journalism.org/2018/09/10/news-use-across-social-media-platforms-2018/
Snopes. https://www.snopes.com/
Society of Professional Journalists. “Quality Journalism.” Columbia Review of Journalism 23 Feb. 2017, in PEN America, Nora Benavidez, Media Literacy Webinar, 2020. Protest & Disinformation Video: Using Media Literacy to Spot it and Stop it. Presenter: Nora Benavidez, PEN America, 12 June 2020. https://pen.org/event/protest-disinformation/ Viewed 8 July 2020.
Spring, Mariana. “Fake News Generator: Who Starts Viral Misinformation?” BBC News, 4 May 2020, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAy6PI5UtSU
Strauss, Valerie. “The Answer Sheet.” Washington Post, https://www.washingtonpost.com/answer-sheet/
Wardle, Claire. “Information Disorder: ‘The Techniques We Saw in 2016 Have Evolved’” 21 Oct. 2019. First Draft, https://firstdraftnews.org/latest/information-disorder-the-techniques-we-saw-in-2016-have-evolved/?emci=6aa30c81-d601-eb11-96f5-00155d03affc&emdi=ea000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000001&ceid=%7b%7bContactsEmailID%7d%7d
Washington Post Fact Checker. www.washingtonpost.com/news/fact-checker/
Zimdars, Melissa. Fake News: Understanding Media and Misinformation in the Digital Age. MIT Press, 2020.
PS/SMC Library 14 Jan. 2021
