LibGuides: Communication and Media Studies: Articles

Library Databases

The SMC Library subscribes to a variety of databases, which include content from: journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and other materials. Begin at: library.smc.edu Select: Databases Select: All Databases Choose one of the following databases:

Communication and Mass Media Complete
A resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
U.S. Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Films on Demand
Contains more than 26,000 educational films and 263,000 film segments that are available online in streaming video format. The videos cover a broad range of topics including art, business, social sciences, education, health, medicine, history, physical sciences, philosophy, religion, performing arts, English, geography, and psychology.
JSTOR
Back issues of over 300 scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Archeology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Mathematics, Music, Middle East Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Slavic Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides selected full text for many U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 800 U.S. regional newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
U.S. Newsstream
Local, regional and national news coverage from selected newspapers, including the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Denver Post and USA Today.

Definitions

Magazines, Scholarly journals and Newspapers are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly.

Magazines tend to be popular periodicals aimed at the general public, and usually do not offer an in-depth analysis of the topic. Magazines are excellent sources for current events and a summary of a topic, yet magazines generally do not provide in-depth analysis of a subject.

Journals- Academic/Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed - contain articles usually written for, and by, scholars and professionals, in a specific subject area, such as medicine, law, literature, and music. The main purpose of scholarly journals is to report on original research or experimentation. Scholarly articles are the more appropriate choice for researchers who need analysis and review of the literature and the topic.

Newspapers are usually published every day or every week and contain the news of the day, commentary, feature articles and advertising. Newspapers are good sources to consult for very recent events and for local area news.