LibGuides: Life Sciences: Articles

Library Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides complete coverage of the professional literature in nursing, 14 allied health disciplines and health sciences librarianship. In addition, there are over 560 journals in full text.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information regarding today’s environmental issues, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. The database is updated daily with relevant content integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on subjects such as climate change, food security, soil ecology, and tourism. ReadSpeaker and on-demand article translation accommodates diverse backgrounds. Citation tools for formatting into MLA, APA, and Chicago style are integrated directly into the user’s workflow and can be easily imported from single or multiple documents to services like EasyBib or NoodleTools.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition offers information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Has full text for nearly 300 journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Clinical Pharmacology provides access to information for prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. CINAHL provides indexing for over 500 journals in nursing and other allied health disciplines.
Human Anatomy (Gale Interactive) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s Human Anatomy allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse in interactive research. It includes 4,300 anatomical structures and more than 13,500 landmarks, and provides a level of engagement not possible with traditional instruction, videos, or real-world cadaver dissection. When off-campus, it will prompt for an access code. Please use Sant99200.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Search abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical journals for information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Science Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. Also covers The New York Times Science Section. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Online version of the weekly scientific news magazine, Science. Access to content published from 1997 up to the current issue.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Peer-Reviewed

Academic/Scholarly Journals

written by experts and scholars in their particular fields
may be approved for publication by experts and scholars (referred/peer-reviewed)
latest research on your topic
lengthy and in depth
include charts, graphs, and long bibliographies
use specialized language and jargon

Popular Periodicals

Periodicals include magazines, and newspapers and are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly.

Magazines tend to be popular periodicals aimed at the general public, and usually do not offer an in-depth analysis of the topic. Magazines are excellent sources for current events and a summary of a topic, yet magazines generally do not provide in-depth analysis of a subject.

Newspapers are usually published every day or every week and contain the news of the day, commentary, feature articles and advertising. Newspapers are good sources to consult for very recent events and for local area news.

Life Sciences

Ask a Librarian

Articles in Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Library Databases

Peer-Reviewed

Popular Periodicals